Final Questions.

 
-Why was having an internship important to you? It wasn’t a requirement for school, you werent paid, etc.
  • Having an internship was important to me in that it helped me discover what I wanted out of my college education and helped me gain experience required of many Ph. D programs. 
-What were your experiences working with people with IDD and how has is changed your perspective and future career path? 

  • My experience with people with IDD was one of the most amazing things to happen to me. I believe without this internship I would have no idea what I wanted to do with my degree, wouldn’t of gained valuable experience, and met so many amazing people. Working with the IDD community definitely changed my perspective, I’m from a small town of less than 900 people and what we were taught growing up about the community was a lot of negativity and none of the positive. Going in a knew virtually nothing except old stereotypes.

-Benefits of the supervisor/mentor relationship

  • Having a graduate student who had once (fairly recently) been in our shoes was very helpful to me. Kari provided a lot of great advice that still applied. Past internships I’ve had, the supervisor has been quite a bit older and hadn’t attended college in decades, so I couldn’t really ask about post baccalaureate advice.

-Other things that were helpful or things you liked about the internship

  • One of my favorite things about this internship was that we weren’t watched over constantly being told exactly what to do, we were given a degree of freedom while also completing set tasks assigned to all the interns which we in turn got to select which ones we personally wanted to complete.
One thought on “Final Questions.

  1. icarrillo1 says:

    I’m trying to find your other blog, but am not having any luck. Could you e-mail me the link to the other one when you get a moment. Thanks

Leave a Reply

